Quarter moon. Words that start with Lund.

The dying words of the vampire mouse are running through my head, and I cannot silence them.

Forget Paris, Harry-le-beau. Remember Lund—

I am trying to think of words that start with ‘Lund’. There are not many. When I was in Lisbon, there was a dance called ‘lundum’. And in Dublin (where I was hunting rogue piskies) there was a tobacconist by the name of Lundyfoot.

But why would the creature taunt me with the name of a tobacconist? For a taunt it was, I am sure of it.

harrylebeau_episode06I do not want to think of the other possibility. Perhaps it was not ‘Lund’. Perhaps it was ‘Lond’.

London.

But what could a vampire mouse in Van Diemen’s Land know of London?

Nothing.

[I notice a few hairs out of place on my tail, and quickly set to work tidying them. Lick lick lick.]

It is impossible.

[Lick lick lick.]

I do not want to think about it.

[Lick lick lick.]

I refuse to think about it.

[Lick lick lick lick lick lick lick.]

I shall take a nap instead.

Leave a Reply

